Savoury Pap

First I just want to apologise for the long silence…life has just been crazy busy that I just don’t seem to find time to take pics and sit down to write a blog post of the recipes I try out. All I want to do mostly is just finishing cooking so we can eat 🙂

However, there is this one recipe I have been meaning to share on the blog for a while, and I finally found time to take pics while making it. This is a recipe that my family and I absolutely love, especially when we have a braai (South African word for barbecue). I got this recipe from my dear friend Phetsile (who is a great cook!). It’s so easy to make — and delicious — I had to share it with you guys!

It a basically a twist to the regular pap recipe which is staple in most South African homes. The twist comes in adding cheese, butter and sweetcorn to it. You can even eat it on its own without gravy.

So this is how you make it:

Ingredients:

  • 1 litre of water
  • 3 cups of mealie meal (ground maize)
  • 1 cup of grated mature cheddar cheese
  • 100g of butter
  • 1 can (410g) of cream style corn
  • Salt to taste

Method:

1. Pour the water into a pot and bring it to a boil.

20150314_191113

2. Add a pinch of salt, stir in the mealie meal and combine (it may seem a bit stiff at first but it will soften). Cook for 15 minutes with the lid on.

20150314_191519

3. Add the can of corn and butter; combine everything and cook for a further 15 minutes.

Please excuse the messy pot! For those that make pap will know it can get messy sometimes.
Please excuse the messy pot! For those that make pap will know it can get messy sometimes.

4. Add the cheese and allow it to cook for a few more minutes.Then serve while hot.

20150314_194509

I served mine with Chakalaka gravy and pork chops 🙂

20150314_195357

4 thoughts on “Savoury Pap

  1. Hi Nangi!

    Thanks for the follow on my blog 🙂

    So I come over to your blog, and to my excitement is a food blog! 🙂 However when I saw the picture with the Steak and pap! OMG you killing me!!! Reminds me that this here is a South African blog! Cant wait to look through some more! So excited you found me so I could find you! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi there! Thanks so much for following my blog – even though I haven’t updated in forever (you know the struggle right, lol). I actually found your blog through MzansiFro’s Facebook page 🙂 I read through some of your posts and so far I love what I see and I see you are also a Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie fan! I am slowly working my way through her collection – I am almost done with Half of a Yellow Sun and I bought Americanah the other day. Looking forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, until you mentioned me, I had no idea that I was even mentioned on MzaniFro’s page! Yes I’m a BIG Adichie fan, and I love food as well, you will see my Food Cafe posts, so I’m glad to have found your blog too! Please post some more! come now! I’m sure you could teach me a thing or two, OR THREE about cooking that I don’t already know! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. MzansiFro is one of my fave bloggers so I knew if she recommended a blog, then it is worth checking out 🙂 I will definitely check out your Food Cafe posts and I will try my best to post more food recipes :-).

    Like

Leave a Reply

