Half price sushi & dim sum at Beluga, Pretoria

A few Sundays ago my friend, Yolanda, and I visited Beluga restaurant in Waterkloof, Pretoria for an overdue catch-up session.

We had a limited budget and at the same time we also wanted to try out a place we had never been to before. We both love sushi so after a recommendation from a colleague of mine about an amazing half price special at Beluga on ALL their sushi and dim sum, ALL day Sunday, we were sold! What is even better, cocktails are half price too!

I actually reserved our table the day before because I was nervous we wouldn’t find space if we just pitched up on the day (I mean this is half price sushi we are talking about here; imagine how many people come here for this special!). However, when we arrived the Sunday afternoon it was not full at all so it really wasn’t necessary to book in advance after all.

Beluga is situated in the trendy and vibey “The Club Lifestyle Centre” and there are quite a few other interesting restaurant nearby which I would love to go back and try out someday.

When we arrived we were led to the upstairs part of the restaurant. The restaurant has two levels, the ground level where the entrance is situated and the upstairs section which also leads to an outside wooden deck. It was a bit nippy that day so we opted to stay inside.

20141026_150839
The upstairs area.

 

The door leading to the balcony.
The door leading to the outside wooden deck.

Once we were seated, our host came to welcome us and were presented with two glasses of sparkling wine — on the house 🙂 Now, this I did not expect! I must say I was thoroughly impressed.

20141026_142520

As we perused our menu and I drank my refreshing glass of sparkling wine a waiter brought some bread for us to nibble on. The bread tasted delicious and was different from what I’ve had before. I can’t really remember now what it was made of but it tasted good. I had to stop myself from eating all of it!

20141026_142806

We decided to first order some dim sum and we each ordered something different so we could have a variety. I had Pot Stickers (duck, honey, ginger pan-fried dumplings) and Yolanda had Har Gau (chicken, coriander, corn translucent steamed dumplings).  I must say we both particularly did not like the mushy texture of the dim sum and mine was quite bland, not much flavour. The Har Gau was a lot better.

IMG_20141026_152943
Dim sum

Next we ordered sushi (the main reason we were there in the first place). We each ordered different ones and shared.

20141026_153303

20141026_153210

The pics do not do it justice! The sushi was amazing — fresh and delicious! The portions we had were also quite filling.

And of course we had to have cocktails. I had Lime Bubbles (at the recommendation of the host) and Yolanda had the virgin Apple and Cinnamon Mojito.

Yummy cocktails!

We both had a great time and we will definitely go back!

Beluga can be more on the expensive side but if you are on really tight budget I suggest you try out their half price sushi and dim sum special on Sundays. Our bill came to a total of about R290.00; now that’s not too bad 😉

What is also great to know is that if you can’t make it to Beluga on Sundays, then you can still take advantage of their half price sushi and dim sum (plus cocktails) special from Monday to Saturday between 12h00 and 19h00.

Beluga (Pretoria) restaurant details:

The Club, 109 Cnr of 18th Street and Pinaster Avenue,

109 18th St, Pretoria, 0081, South Africa

Website: www.beluga.co.za

Menu

2 thoughts on “Half price sushi & dim sum at Beluga, Pretoria

  1. That is actually a good question! I didn’t think of asking, so I am really not sure if it is standard practice.

    Next time you must go together; I will guide you when it comes to sushi 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

