Beef & Vegetable Curry

So about two weeks ago I bought these…

Spices
Cayenne pepper, Star aniseed, Mild masala & a mix of Dhania and Jeera

You should have seen how excited I was after buying these spices! hehehe!

I have always been a huge fan of Indian cuisine and every now and then, when the budget allows (and for special occasions), I treat myself to a meal at Geet. Geet is an Indian restaurant in Brooklyn, Pretoria and they have the most delicious curries (and their venue is gorgeous)! However, I don’t go too often because their menu is quite pricey, hence I only visit when I am celebrating something. You can expect to pay between R120 to R150 for a nice curry (that excludes drinks).

Moving back to the matter at hand…I purchased these Indian spices from our local Indian takeaway shop. I usually buy my curries from them when I crave something spicy and they are wayyy cheaper than Geet. I was also starting to get tired of using the same ol’ spices like Peri-peri, Paprika, Chilli flakes, in my cooking. I was looking for that authentic taste you get in spicy curries. Seeing that they already sell the spices I was looking for, at this takeaway shop, I asked the shop owner what spices she recommends for a good curry. I was so impressed on how super helpful she was; she even gave me a few pointers on how I should use the spices! 🙂

She basically told me I need ginger, garlic, bay leaves, aniseeds, masala, dhania (coriander), jeera (cumin) and cayenne pepper, to make a nice curry. She recommended mild masala because I wanted my curry to be a bit spicy but not too hot. She explained that the cayenne pepper helps to give your curry a nice red colour and she also advised that I should not fry the masala, cayenne pepper, dhania and jeera, or else they will burn and turn my curry black. What I liked the most is that I got about half a recipe from her (she gave me instructions on how I can start my curry) and I just improvised on the rest!

So if you are in the mood to try something spicy…here goes:

beef ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1kg of beef (I used potjiekos beef but stewing beef can also work)
  • Garlic (teaspoon)
  • Ginger (teaspoon)
  • 1 Stock cube (beef or chilli beef)
  • Oil (2x tablespoons)
  • 1 Onion (chopped)
  • 2 tomatoes (chopped & skin removed)
  • 2 Potatoes (cut into cubes)
  • Cauliflower, Broccoli & Carrot mix
  • Bay leaf
  • Mild masala
  • Star aniseed
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Dhania & Jeera mix

Method:

1. Pour oil into the pot and fry the beef on all sides until brown. Remove the meat from the pot and set aside.

2. Add the chopped onions to the pot and fry them on a medium heat until almost soft. Then add in the bay leaf, garlic, ginger & star aniseed and fry for about 2 min.

3. Return the browned beef back into the pot and fry for a further few minutes. Then add in your spices (masala, cayenne pepper and the dhania & jeera mix). I didn’t really measure these, so you can add according to your liking. I added about a tablespoon and a half of each spice ( I wanted it to be spicy). I also added salt but don’t add too much seeing that the stock already has a lot of salt.

20140518_125314

4. Stir your pot and make sure the spices coat the meat. Then add in the chopped tomato and a cup and a half of stock to the pot. Bring the pot to a boil; then turn down the heat and let it simmer for about 40 min, stirring occasionally.

5. Now you can add in your chopped potatoes and let the mixture simmer for about another 20 min. Then lastly add in your cauliflower, broccoli and carrot mix. You can let this simmer for another 15 min or until the meat is tender and to your liking.

20140518_142908

6. Once it’s ready, dish up and serve with rice or steamed bread.

20140518_165333

This recipe also works well with chicken, if you want to try poultry. Just remember to use chicken stock instead of beef stock.

2 thoughts on “Beef & Vegetable Curry

Leave a Reply

